Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

The Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology

Inaugural Jordan College Honors Program recipients unveiled

(Dec. 11, 2014) -- The Fresno State Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology introduced the first members of its newly-created Upper Division Honors Program Thursday morning at a gathering at the Department of Viticulture and Enology.

The Jordan College program was created to provide scholarly, creative and motivated students an enhanced educational experience with advanced study and engagement with select Jordan College faculty.

Jordan College Honors Program recipients

“We’re excited to welcome a group of talented students that have especially bright futures,” said Kathie Reid-Bevington, Jordan College interim associate dean and Honors Faculty Council chairperson. “They have impressive academic resumes already, and we’re also impressed that they’re active in the community as well. Our faculty looks forward to partnering with them in their specialized interests, and know that their enthusiasm will lay a strong foundation for the program.”

The 10 initial honors program students are all Fresno State juniors and include:

- Lindsey Anderson, Ag Business
- Teighlor Baugher, Ag Education-Animal Science
- Devin Brittain, Food and Nutritional Sciences, Dietetics
- Danika Brumbeloe, Fashion Merchandise
- Carolyn Chase, Food and Nutritional Sciences, Culinology
- Salvador Mariscal, Ag Business
- Christina Martinez, Child Development
- Kelsie Raulino, Ag Business
- Hannah Rocha, Ag Business
- Andreina Torres, Family Science

Selections were reviewed by the Jordan Council Honors Council; must be a junior academically and a Fresno State student for at least one term; have a minimum GPA of 3.5 their last 60 units; submit a personal statement with references, writing sample and resume; and participate in a personal interview.

In the spring of 2015, honors program students will take three honors seminar units, and work with a faculty mentor to develop an honors project. As a senior, they will participate in additional three spring-semester honors colloquium units, and present their completed project to students, faculty and the campus community.

Honors students will receive incentives such as priority registration, extended borrowing time for library materials and special recognition at commencement.

The 10-person Jordan College Honors Program Faculty Council is composed of two honors students, Dr. Sandra Witte (Interim Dean) and a Jordan College faculty member from all seven departments that will serve three-year terms. They include: Dr. Patrick Berends (Agricultural Business), Dr. Steve Rocca (Animal Sciences and Agricultural Education), Dr. Kathie Reid (Child, Family and Consumer Sciences), Dr. Erin Dormedy (Food Science and Nutrition), Dr. Arun Nambiar (Industrial Technology), Dr. John Bushoven (Plant Science) and Dr. Sonet van Zyl (Viticulture and Enology).

#BeBold: Follow the Jordan College on Facebook (JCAST/FresnoState) and Twitter (@jcast_fresno).

Prepared by: Geoff Thurner, Communication Specialist (