Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Center For Irrigation Technology

International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Irrigation Standards

Irrigation standards are developed and circulated by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). ISO is an international agency for standardization, headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland. Members of ISO are the national standards bodies of about 90 countries. The United States representative is the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). The objectives of ISO are to advance worldwide standardization; to facilitate international exchange of goods and services; and to promote cooperation in intellectual, scientific, technological, and economic activity.

ISO is comprised of more than 2,000 technical committees, subcommittees, and working groups. Individual countries participate in the development of these standards as members of technical advisory groups with related subcommittees. In this case, the designated subcommittee is noted as ISO/TC23/SC18 (irrigation and drainage standards). In addition to the United States, countries participating in SC18 include Belgium, Canada, the Peoples Republic of China, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Spain, and the United Kingdom. The secretariat and chair of SC18 are held by Israel.

The Irrigation Association (IA) is officially accredited by ANSI to review proposed standards and advise ANSI on the appropriate voting action. The IA has contracted with the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) to manage the administrative matters for SC18.

Standards may be ordered from: 

Attn: Customer Service Department, 13th Floor
11 W. 42nd Street
New York, NY 10036
Telephone: (888) 267-4783
Fax: (212) 302-1286
Click here to access the ANSI webstore.